Posted in Life, Uncategorized

Hiking

Ah, the great outdoors. There’s nothing like hiking down a creek bed that’s basically layers of rock slowly unfolding, with cliff walls on either side of you. And hiking with family (or friends, but in this case it was family) just makes it even better!

I went hiking at Turkey Run State Park with one of my brothers and a cousin today. It is not only the bicentennial for our state, but it was the centennial for the park, as it was created on the centennial of our statehood. All this made it all the more fitting to go hiking there, not to mention that it is probably our favourite place to hike within a couple hour radius of where we live. It has canyons, creek beds you hike up (or down), water that is sometimes shallow enough to walk through without issue and sometimes deep enough you’re wading, trees all over, and amazing rock formations.

As fun as hiking is, it had been far too long since I’d gone on a proper hike and I was very out of shape for it. I also had ended up injuring my ankles last time I hiked here (they were swollen for a week or two), but I did have hiking boots now so was hopeful of no injuries this time. Sure enough, I made it through with no injuries, only sore muscles. And pictures. Lots of pictures. Sadly, most of them that included my brother and cousin were too blurry to be any good, but I did get a few decent or semi-decent ones. Ones I shall now spam you all with! Enjoy! Or skip. I won’t know the difference. However, I will say that if you want to see what sort of hiking is offered at Turkey Run, peruse the pictures and keep in mind that those were the rugged or moderate trails. There are easier trails, we just prefer the more scenic and fun ones ourselves!

Also, if you get the chance to go outside this year, take it. Green nature is a good stress reliever as is exercise, so hiking is basically the ultimate stress buster! And who doesn’t need some of that?

 

Author:

Hello; I'm a mid-twenties nerd studying to get an Associates Degree as a Library Technical Assistant while working part-time at a library.

Leave a Reply

