Posted in Life, Uncategorized

Endings

…And beginnings.

Summer is often a time memorialized by carefree and sunshiney days, but as we become adults, we realize that is more of a wish than a reality. Some adults worked steady jobs, some like me worked (part-time in my case) and went to school, some had to find new jobs. My sister and my fiance are of the latter group.

While my fiance is still looking for that new job so he can move to my area and we can finally get married, my sister found her job and started it this week. In Honduras. It’s her first teaching job since she graduated this spring, and while I am extremely proud that she even got to turn down a job offer in order to take her top choice of jobs, it is scary to let my little sister go that far and know there is little we can do to help her except by way of some verbal encouragement. For us, this summer marked the end of a certain type of familiar security, and the beginning of a huge adventure for her. Because while this experience was scary for her and me, it is also just that: a huge adventure. every adventure or quest has risks, dangers, toils to undertake, and obstacles to overcome, but that’s what makes the end goal so much sweeter to reach. In every quest or grand adventure, the hero has to seek a prize or a goal, and often, the hero has to grow from a youth no one thought could do it into the true hero of the story. And just like in those, this opportunity for my sister will present numourous challenges and fears to overcome, but with large rewards for doing so. I look forward to seeing how much more confident, self-assured, and knowledgeable my sister is after this year, as well as all the other benefits this adventure will present her with!

So, to my sister… kick ass in your grand adventure! And don’t worry: every ending marks a new beginning, as some story or song or something once said, I think. Grow, learn – about yourself, others, and our world – and enjoy being cast as the hero of an adventure/quest! You can do this.

(And to my mom, sorry about the language but it was fitting.)

Author:

Hello; I'm a mid-twenties nerd studying to get an Associates Degree as a Library Technical Assistant while working part-time at a library.

Leave a Reply

