A New Year

For the past several years, instead of creating New Year’s resolutions (okay, I never did create those), I’ve started a list of goals for the year that I start on my birthday and the number of which corresponds to my new age. These goals help to remind me do things, to try new things, to change to be more the person I want to be. They range from challenges of not buying over a certain amount of clothing (after I was spending too much on clothes one year), to hiking someplace new, to learning a sense of wonder which is so easy to lose when worried about life. But with each year, I want to take the chance to work on improving my life, on living the life I wish I had, on becoming myself and focusing on what is important – even if that is just to breathe more, or smile and laugh more (goals I have set). You see, life isn’t just found in the big things (learning a sense of wonder, trying something new each month, be unafriad to be myself, etc.), but in the small things such as smiling more, wearing red lipstick in public, wearing a hat in public, dancing in the rain, stargazing, or finding a new music group that is enjoyed. Life is made up of these and so much more.

Getting my associates degree may not have been on my list of things to do, but everything is geared towards growing, learning, or simply having fun and loosening up, and it did fit into those overarching goals for my life. I don’t normally finish everything on the list, but that’s not the point of the list, it is a list of goals and goals may not always be attained, but if in working towards even a few of them I can live a life of greater intentionality and enjoy life more, I will.

We all have the power to make changes in our lives that move us in the direction we want to go. What do you wish was different in  your life? What can you do to change that? Do it. It’s a new year, why does it have to follow the patterns of past years?

Change is scary, and so is taking control of my own life and living it in such a way as to become the person I want to be with the life I want (unafraid, filled with a sense of wonder at the beauty in the world, challenging myself with both adventures and reading, growing…), but you know what? Look at a storm. It can look ominous and scary, it can bring about changes if there is much damage, but there can also be a strange beauty in it, and fearing it does nothing. Being prepared and facing challenges and life’s storms head on though? That’s how to live intentionally and with courage. And that, is how lives worth living are made. One year – one day – at a time.

IMG_1015

Storm over the wheat fields

Leave a Reply

